Follow:
Books

March 2020 Reads

March was a weird reading month. I went through about a week where I didn’t read much at all. As COVID-19 got more serious, my anxiety spiked, and I just didn’t have the focus to sit down and read a book. I started a couple books that I didn’t get through and then finally chose a light read that I could finish. I ended up with some great March 2020 reads.

I’m finally back in a good reading groove, which is great since all of my library holds are starting to come up and I have a NetGalley list a mile long.

Disclosure: This post does include affiliate links. This means that any purchase you make from this post will support Chambray & Stripes.

How Could She by Lauren Mechling ★★★☆☆

March 2020 Reads: How Could She

After breaking up with her fiance, Geraldine’s life in Toronto feels stale. She’s always felt like she belonged in New York City where her best friends Rachel and Sunny live. Rachel is a mother to a young daughter and an author working on her latest young adult book. Sunny is an artist seeking distractions from her loveless marriage. Rachel and Sunny have never gotten along, but when there’s a possibility that Geraldine might want to reconnect with her ex, they team up to make sure that doesn’t happen. Geraldine moves to the city and as Sunny and Rachel grow closer, Geraldine feels more distant with both of them.

How Could She felt like a realistic portrayal of adult friendship and the struggle to remain connected as women move into different phases of life. The characters were relatable, and the development of these women allowed me to get to know each one on her own.

Would I recommend? Yes


Don’t Turn Back by D.S. Butler ★★★★☆

March 2020 Reads: Don't Turn Back

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

A new case brings D.S. Karen Hart back to her past to the night that her husband and daughter died in a tragic car accident. As she continues to work the case, it becomes clear that there’s deception in her department and she’s unsure who she can trust.

This the third novel in the D.S. Karen Hart series, but the first one that I had read. I might have had a better understanding of Karen Hart as a character had I read the other two, but this worked well as a standalone novel. I haven’t read a good detective novel in a while, and this one reminded me how much I love the genre. Butler is an excellent writer, and Don’t Turn Back kept me on my toes the whole time. I will definitely be reading the first two novels in this series.

Would I recommend? Yes! Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.


Admission by Julie Buxbaum ★★★★☆

March 2020 Reads: Admission

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Based on the real-life college admissions scandal, Chloe Berringer’s life is turned upside down when her mother, Joy Fields, is arrested for bribing the admissions department to get Chloe into college. The novel alternates between the events of Chloe’s senior year before and after the FBI knocks on her front door to arrest her mother.

I didn’t follow the real-life events all that closely, but I was drawn into the idea of this story. I was picturing Lori Laughlin as Joy Fields the entire time. I loved being able to see Chloe’s life before and after. It really gave the reader a full picture of everything that went down and everything Chloe lost when the story was unveiled.

Admission was originally set to be released in May, but it looks like it’s been pushed back to December. Would highly recommend pre-ordering!

Would I recommend? Absolutely!


Find Your Path by Carrie Underwood ★★★☆☆

Find Your Path

Carrie Underwood shares her passion for health and fitness and shares some of her own secrets to living a healthy life 52 weeks a year.

While Carrie shares some tidbits from her personal life, the bulk of this book revolves around workouts and healthy eating. I listened to this on audiobook, which was probably not the best way to digest this book. A lot of the book is recipes and workouts, which would be great peruse on my own time, but they’re much less interesting being read aloud to you. I would’ve liked to hear more about Carrie’s life.

Would I recommend? If you’re looking for a resource to live a healthier lifestyle then yes


The Boy From The Woods by Harlan Coben ★★★★☆

Find Your Path

I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Wilde was found in the woods as a young boy thirty years ago. While he was adopted into a family, he still chooses to live off the grid and remains a bit of a mystery to the town. When Hester Crimestein is asked to investigate a missing local girl, she asks him to help her find her.

I could not put this down and stayed up way too late reading more than one night. Every discovery led to something even more interesting, and I didn’t want to stop reading until I knew what happened. The Boy From The Woods is suspenseful and well written.

Would I recommend? If you love a good mystery, yes!



What have you been reading?

March 2020 Reads

Share on
Previous Post

You may also like